Can you beat the matched bettors at Fantasy Premier League?

James McMath

8 Aug 2017

Updated: 19 Nov 2023

The 2017-18 Premier League season is almost here and fans across the country will be picking their fantasy football teams.

As ever, Profit Accumulator has its own FPL mini-league - and this season, we're throwing it open to non-members.

Matched bettors are a pretty savvy bunch and there's a lot of football knowledge among them. But, for those who would like to take them on, you are more than welcome.

Join the league here and use the code 776818-188835

The prize breakdown looks like this:

1st place: 12-month free membership
2nd place: 6-month free membership
3rd place: 1-month free membership

Last season, 146 entered the league.

Daniel R's Denzel FC took the title with 2,402 points, head of Alan P's Team Handsome on 2,331.

Dave B's FC Madballs was third just a point behind on 2,330, while Chris P's Expected Toulouse was fourth on 2,269.

Roger W took the one-month free membership prize by finishing fifth on 2,253.

Fantasy Premier League tips

Getting off to a good start is essential if you're hoping to be in the mix for honours at the end of the season. But who should be in your dream team?

The pundits at Draft Fantasy have crunched the numbers, analysed the stats and hereby declare the five golden rules to winning fantasy football this season.

Bring in a big gun

  1. Harry Kane, Spurs
  2. Alexis Sanchez, Arsenal
  3. Romelu Lukaku, Man Utd
  4. Dele Alli, Spurs
  5. Eden Hazard, Chelsea
  6. Sergio Aguero, Man City
  7. Christian Eriksen, Spurs
  8. Kevin De Bruyne, Man City
  9. Sadio Mane, Liverpool
  10. Alexandre Lacazette, Arsenal

Look at the new boys

  1. Alexis Sanchez, Arsenal
  2. Dele Alli, Spurs
  3. Anthony Knockaert, Brighton
  4. Eden Hazard, Chelsea
  5. Tom Ince, Huddersfield
  6. Christian Eriksen, Spurs
  7. Romelu Lukaku, Man Utd
  8. Glenn Murray, Brighton
  9. Kevin De Bruyne, Man City
  10. Matt Richie, Newcastle

Make a shortlist


  1. Harry Kane, Spurs
  2. Romelu Lukaku, Man Utd
  3. Diago Costa, Chelsea
  4. Roberto Firmino, Liverpool
  5. Joshua King, Bournemouth
  6. Sergio Aguero, Man City
  7. Jermaine Defoe, Bournemouth
  8. Jamie Vardy, Leicester
  9. Fernando Llorente, Swansea
  10. Christian Benteke, Crystal Palace


  1. Alexis Sanchez, Arsenal
  2. Dele Alli, Spurs
  3. Eden Hazard, Chelsea
  4. Christian Eriksen, Spurs
  5. Kevin De Bruyne, Man City
  6. Gylfi Sigurdsson, Swansea
  7. Philippe Coutinho, Liverpool
  8. Mesut Ozil, Arsenal
  9. Pedro, Chelsea
  10. Sadio Mane, Liverpool


  1. Marcos Alonso, Chelsea
  2. Gary Cahill, Chelsea
  3. Cesar Azpilicueta, Chelsea
  4. Kyle Walker, Man City
  5. James Milner, Liverpool
  6. David Luiz, Chelsea
  7. Toby Alderweireld, Spurs
  8. Leighton Baines, Everton
  9. Charlie Daniels, Bournemouth
  10. Ashley Williams, Everton


  1. Thibaut Courtois, Chelsea
  2. Hugo Lloris, Spurs
  3. Petr Cech, Arsenal
  4. David De Gea, Man Utd
  5. Fraser Forster, Southampton
  6. Tom Heaton, Burnley
  7. Artur Boruc, Bournemouth
  8. Ben Foster, West Brom
  9. Lukasz Fabianski, Swansea
  10. Heurelho Gomez, Watford

Assess new arrivals

  1. Alexandre Lacazette, Arsenal
  2. Mohamed Salah, Liverpool
  3. Davy Klaassen, Everton
  4. Bernardo Silva, Man City
  5. Steve Mounie, Huddersfield
  6. Sandro Ramirez, Everton
  7. Benjamin Mendy, Man City
  8. Javier Hernandez, West Ham
  9. Florian Lejeune, Newcastle
  10. Antonio Rudiger, Chelsea